DevCom Account

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter!
Like us on Facebook!

13th Gandingan Awards upholds media freedom, honors Ka Louie Tabing

20 March 2019 by CBucu

The University of the Philippines Community Broadcasters' Society (UP ComBroadSoc) held its annual UPLB Isko't Iska's Multi-Media Awards with the theme "Midya at Bayan: Malaya. Mulat. Matapang" last March 16, 2019 at the DL Umali Hall, University of the Philippines, Los Baņos.

Also known as the Gandingan Awards, this year's event introduced the new category "Ka Louie Tabing Memorial Achievement in Community Broadcasting award." This initiative aims to honor the late Ka Louie Tabing for his contribution in the field of community broadcasting. Starting next year, the memorial award will recognize personalities, broadcasters in particular, who dedicated their lives in fighting for a free, conscious, and bold media.

CDC Dean Dr. Maria Stella C. Tirol opened the event with an overview of the Gandingan's purpose.  "The award highlights the contribution of national, local, and community based media and online platforms in changing the lives of Filipinos through the process of communication for development," Dr. Tirol said.

For 13 years, the Gandingan continues to recognize noteworthy media practitioners and stations who have promoted development-oriented issues in their respective programs. Nominees and awardees of Gandingan are carefully screened by a panel composed of professors and students from different organizations and colleges.

This year's awards night was attended by local and national media such as ABS-CBN, GMA, CLTV 36, PTV, DZUP etc.

UP ComBroadSoc, through the Gandingan, does not only recognize the development content and orientation of local and national media, but also promote and sponsor partner communities each year. For 2019, their chosen community was Bahay Pag-asa, a home for children in conflict with the law, located in Calauan, Laguna.

The awards show observes a different theme every year with which the program and message are based on.

aProf. Mark Lester Chico, founder of the Gandingan Awards, elaborated on the meaning and purpose of this year's theme in his opening speech. "Ang midya at bayan dapat malaya, mulat, at matapang. Dapat. Dahil ang kaunlaran ng ating mga sarili at mga komunidad ay nakasalalay sa kalayaan nating bumuo ng lipunan bubuhay sa ating kaluluwa," said Assistant Professor Chico. (The media and the nation should be free, cognizant, and brave. Because our progress as individuals and as a community rests on our freedom to establish a society that will sustain our souls.)

The Gandingan Awards is the only student-organization-led and university based media awards show in the Philippines that gives special focus to development communication and community broadcasting.

DZUP bagged the most of the awards across all categories. They also brought home the two major awards  ' the UP ComBroadSoc's choice award for Gandingan ng Kalayaan and Gandingan ng Kaunlaran. Below is the complete list of winners:


1. Most Development-Oriented News Story: Modern Day Heroes (One Western Visayas of GMA Regional TV)

2. Most Development-Oriented Feature Story: Bigyan ng Halaga (One Western Visayas of GMA Regional TV)

3. Most Development-Oriented Public Service Program: Newsroom Ngayon (CNN Philippines)

4. Most Development-Oriented Documentary Program: Walang Unli Rice (GMA Network)

5. Most Development-Oriented Magazine Program: I-Juander (GMA News TV and Public Affairs)

6. Most Development-Oriented Investigative Program: Reporter's Notebook  (GMA Network)

7. Most Development-Oriented Drama Program: My Special Tatay  (GMA Entertainment, GMA Network)

8. Most Development-Oriented Children's Program: AHA! (GMA Network)

9. Most Development-Oriented TV Plug:  Fake News (CLTV36)

10. Most Development-Oriented Musical Program: The Clash (GMA Entertainment, GMA Network)

12. Most Development-Oriented Talk/Discussion Program: On the Record (CNN Philippines)

1. Most Development-Oriented Radio Drama: Ang Corrupt na Kapitan  (Barangay MAKooLIT, DXVL FM KOOL 94.9)

2. Most Development-Oriented Radio Plug: Hugot Makabayan (DZUP 1602)

3. Most Development-Oriented Radio Public Service Program: Serbisyong Tatak (DZUP 1602)

4. Most Development-Oriented FM Program: Barangay Love Stories (Barangay LS 97.1 DWLS-FM)

5. Most Development-Oriented AM Program: Radyo Mo sa Nutrisyon (RMN DZXL 558)

6. Most Development-Oriented FM Station: AUP 87.8 Shine Radio 

7. Most Development-Oriented AM Station: DZUP 1602

For Online Media
1. Most Development-Oriented Online News: UP Prof'Pagdeklara sa Boracay bilang agri land, makapagpapalala sa soil erosion situation doon  (DZUP Balita of DZUP 1602)

2. Most Development-Oriented Feature Article: For Lumad Schools, Even Holding Class is a Struggle (The Philippine Star)

Hosts and Media Personalities
1. Best FM Radio Program Host: Mr. Renzmark Jairuz  "Papa Dudut" Ricafrenete (Barangay Love Stories, Barangay LS 97.1 DWLS FM)

2. Best AM Radio Program Host: Ali Sotto (Dobol A sa Dobol B, Super Radyo DZBB 594)

3. Best TV Program Host: Mr. Jeff Canoy  (Red Alert,  ABS-CBN News)

4. Best Field Reporter: Ms. Lou Anne Mae Rodina - "Balitang Bisdak" of GMA Regional TV

5. Best News Anchor: Ms. Jessica Soho  (State of the Nation with Jessica Soho, GMA News TV)

1. Most Development-Oriented Educational Program: Matanglawin (ABS-CBN)

2. Most Development-Oriented Women's Program: Usapang P!  (DZUP 1602)

3. Most Development-Oriented Youth Program: 31 Years of Amnesia: Stories on the Myths that Made Marcos (The Philippine Star)

4. Most Development-Oriented Livelihood Program: Sikhay Kilos (DZUP 1602)

5. Most Development-Oriented Environmental Program: G Diaries  (ABS-CBN)

6. Most Development-Oriented Science and Technology Program: IM Ready sa Dobol B (Super Radyo DZBB 594)

7. Most Gender-transformative Program: Asawa Ko, Karibal Ko (GMA Network)

8. Most Participatory Program: Iskoolmates (People's Television PH)

1. Gandingan ng Edukasyon: Dr. Michael Arthus G. Muega (Radyo Edukado, DZUP 1602)

2. Gandingan ng Kababaihan: Ms. Cindy Cruz-Cabrera and Ms. Steph Andaya (GENDERadyo, DZUP 1602)

3. Gandingan ng Kabataan: Mr. Atom Araullo (The Atom Araullo Specials, GMA Network)

4. Gandingan ng Agham at Teknolohiya: Mr. Nathaniel "Mang Tani" Cruz - "IM Ready sa Dobol B" of Super Radyo DZBB 594

5. Gandingan ng Kalikasan: Dr. Ferds Recio at Dr. Nielson Donato - Born to be Wild of GMA Network

6. Gandingan ng Kalayaan: DZUP 1602

7. Gandingan ng Kaunlaran: DZUP 1602

(written by By Maria Beatrice Cantero and Francis Loise Palaspas; for more information on the annual Gandingan awards, please visit: