DevCom Account

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter!
Like us on Facebook!

Gandingan 2014: UPLB's 8th Isko't Iska Broadcast Choice Awards

4 February 2014 by ADAbad and RMLDe Mesa

The UP Community Broadcasters' Society held Gandingan 2014 with the theme "Paglayag 2014: Ang ika-9 na taong Paglalakbay Tungo sa Kaunlaran" on January 25 at the DL Umali auditorium.

Gandingan is an award giving body that recognizes outstanding people, programs and materials from the broadcast industry in both the national and community level. Different personalities from the news and current affairs joined the event.

The three major categories were: Special, Core and General Awards. The winners of the Special Awards, which have been deliberated on by a panel of professors and students, consist of the following:

  • Most Development-Oriented AM Program: Failon Ngayon (DZMM) 
  • Most Development-Oriented FM Program: Dear MOR (MOR For Life) 
  • Most Development-Oriented Radio Plug: Suriang Bayan sa SRO (DZMM) 
  • Best Educational Program: Matanglawin (ABS-CBN 2) 
  • Gandingan ng Edukasyon: Kim Atienza (Matanglawin, ABS-CBN 2) 
  • Best Environmental Program: Born to be Wild (GMA 7) 
  • Gandingan ng Kalikasan: Dr. Ferds Recio & Dr. Nielsen Donato (Born to be Wild,GMA 7) 
  • Best Livelihood Program: My Puhunan (ABS-CBN 2) 
  • Gandingan ng Kabuhayan: Carl Balita (Radyo Negosyo, DZMM) 
  • Most Development-Oriented TV Plug: Choose Philippinines: El Gama (ABS-CBN 2)

The General Awards, which recognizes various programs and personalities, was deliberated upon by a panel and the result of  a university-wide survey. For this year's Gandingan, two awards were added under this category namely: Best Development-Oriented Drama Program and Best Development-Oriented Children's Program. The winners of the General Awards are:

  • Best Documentary: I-Witness "Tawid sa Eskwela" (GMA 7)
  • Best Documentarist: Kara David (I-Witness, GMA 7)
  • Best Public Service Program: Wish ko Lang (GMA 7)
  • Best Public Service Program Host: Vicky Morales (Wish ko Lang, GMA 7)
  • Best FM Station: MOR For Life (ABS-CBN Inc.)
  • Best Disc Jock: Chacha Babes (MOR For Life)
  • Best AM Station: DZMM Radyo Sais Trenta (ABS-CBN Inc.)
  • Best AM Announcer: Ted Failon (Failon Ngayon, DZMM)
  • Best Morning Show: Unang Hirit (GMA 7)
  • Best Morning Show Hosts: Unang Hirit Hosts (GMA 7)
  • Best Magazine Program: Kapuso mo, Jessica Soho (GMA 7)
  • Best Magazine Program Host: Jessica Soho (Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho, GMA 7)
  • Best Investigative Program: Reporter's Notebook (GMA 7)
  • Best Investigative Program Host: Jiggy Manicad & Maki Pulido (Reporter's Notebook, GMA 7)
  • Best Youth-Oriented Program: I-Juander (GMA News TV)
  • Best Youth-Oriented Program Host: Susan Enriquez and Cesar Apolinario (I-Juander, GMA News TV)
  • Best Women-Oriented Program: Investigative Documentaries (GMA News TV)
  • Best Women-Oriented Program Host: Malou Mangahas (Investigative Documentaries, GMA News TV)
  • Best News Program: TV Patrol (ABS-CBN Ch.2)
  • Best News Anchor: Jessica Soho (State of the Nation, GMA News TV)
  • Best Development-Oriented Drama Program: Maalaala Mo Kaya (ABS-CBN Ch.2)
  • Best Development-Oriented Drama Program Writer: Benson Logronio (ABS-CBN Ch.2) 
  • Best Development-Oriented Children's Program: Wansapanataym (ABS-CBN Ch.2)
  • Best Development-Oriented Children's Program Host: Drew Arellano (AHA, GMA 7)
  • Best Development-Oriented Talk Show: The Bottomline (ABS-CBN Ch.2)
  • Best Development-Oriented Talk Show Host: Boy Abunda (The Bottomline, ABS-CBN Ch.2)
  • Most Development-Oriented TV Station/ Gandingan ng Kaunlaran: ABS-CBN Ch. 2
  • Highly Commendable TV Station: GMA 7 

The newest category among the three, the Core Awards, gives recognition to community, university, and college based broadcasters, programs, and stations.  The following were named as winners:

  • Most Development Oriented Radio Plug: Pilipino Ako (DWLC- Radyo ng Bayan Lucena)
  • Most Development Oriented Campus-Based Radio Station: Adventist University of the Philippines
  • Most Development Oriented Radio Plug (Campus-Based Radio Station): Lessons We Live By (AUP)
  • Most Development Oriented Community AM Program: Pulso Publiko (DWLC- Radyo ng Bayan Lucena)
  • Best AM Announcer: Sariling Atin (DYAP 765 Palawan)
  • Most Development Oriented Radio Station: DZJV 1458

With the Gandingan awards, the UP Community Broadcasters' Society challenges TV and radio stations to produce more development-oriented and high-quality materials.